The Man who became God

I had written this article years back,hope you will enjoy it…

(Picture Courtesy :
(Picture Courtesy :

Bramha-Vishnu-Maheshwara, the Great Trinity,are the pillars of Hinduism perhaps since the birth of the Universe .The three Gods represent the creation, existence and the destruction (the birth, life and death) respectively. The Trimurti has always fascinated and attracted the curious minds since ages. Shiva Trilogy (The Immortals of Meluha, The Secret of the Nagas and The Oath of the Vayuputra) is dedicated to the destroyer ‘Lord Shiva’ by personifying this Hindu mythological God as a human being.

The book is the perfect cocktail of the History and the Mythology. As many of the historians believe that the Hindu mythological Gods may be actually the heads of the tribes in the early Vedic ages, Amish has portrayed Shiva, the main lead as the leader of one of such tribes from Tibet closely relating to the ancient books that claim Mount Kailash as the abode of Lord Shiva.

“The Immortals of Meluha” rolls us back in 1900 BC, when the inhabitants of the Meluha, the Suryavanshis and Swadeep, the Chandravanshis were eagerly waiting for their Mahadev who would save their sacred river Saraswati from the slow death. The well planned city of Meluha resembles the well planned city of the Indus valley civilization on one hand and again the characters King Daksha, Nandi, Bhrigu, Ganesha, Kali , Brahaspati, Sati etc are taken as per the mythology, blending fact with fiction perfectly.

The trilogy is based on the evil of the good when misused rationalizing that too much of everything is bad. Shiva is the destroyer of the evil. His Karma would save the earth recasting him as Mahadev.

The second book of the series, “The Secret of the Nagas”, reveals the truth about the Nagas, the sinister and the greatest enemy of the Meluhans. The faithfulness of the Vasudevs, Shiva’s philosopher guide is on the stake as they take the side of the evil Nagas. Shiva’s journey in search of the Nagas takes him down the network of Indian rivers, then to the south, deep in the Dandak forest, only to find that nothing is what it seems to be. The dark, deadly mystery land unfolds the unbelievable secrets to the readers. The scientific explanation of the deformity in the Nagas actually makes us feel that yes that might be the reason!!

The half-moon, the Nagaraj around his neck and the Trishul with the Damroo tied on it, together compliment the Shiva’s physical appearance and Amish has been successful in relating him with his accessories through this awesome series. The simple and ever-known and yet so extra-ordinary and so new!!

The battle is on against the true evil in the final and concluding part of the trio series. “The Oath of the Vayuputras” finally discloses the secret of the Vayuputras. Shiva succeeds in defeating the evil but on what cost? The answer is perhaps the saddest part of the series.

The three books are worth reading and definitely spell-bounding. Amish is well on his way to becoming the Paulo Coelho of the east as quoted by the Business world.

11 thoughts on “The Man who became God

  1. I too loved the series 🙂 You know I pre-ordered the third part 😛 My reason for liking it was the way he blended the fiction with facts and adding mythological dimensions too it 🙂 I actually cried at the sad ending 😦 And yes the sad ending gave it edge over others 🙂 Nice article 🙂 When are you coming up with next part of sandhya ?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s